PPBF: What to Do With a Box

WhatToDoWithABoxCoverAuthor: Jane Yolen
Illustrator: Chris Sheban
Publisher: Creative Editions, 2016
Age: 3 and up
Themes: imagination, cardboard boxes, stories in rhyme
OpeningA box! A box is a strange device.
Summary: (from my library catalog) Jane Yolen poetically reminds young readers that a simple box can be a child’s most imaginative plaything as artist Chris Sheban illustrates its myriad and magical uses.

WhatToDoWithABox1Why I like this book: I love cardboard boxes, not just because of the great memories of appliances delivered in the neighborhood and the whole gang of kids piling in and rolling down the hill, or of the multiple box pirate ship we built for my son’s birthday, but for the allure of adventure! And this book is a beautiful invitation!

WhatToDoWithABox2Resources/Activities: get a box – no instructions needed!

WhatToDoWithABox4For more Perfect Picture Book picks with teacher/parent resources, check out the list on Susanna Hill’s blog HERE.

25 thoughts on “PPBF: What to Do With a Box

  1. This sounds like another wonderful Jane Yolen book that I must read! And what a timely review – I just read that Zappos is now including ideas for turning the empty boxes into other items, like cell phone holders. I guess they figure adults need instructions.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, this is a popular book. I love the premise. We used to haul appliance boxes from the corner store to our backyard. There, those boxes became all sorts of adventures or a great clubhouse. Jane Yolen is a wonder poet. I get her “Once a Day” Poem” to my inbox each day. Her poems for kids are simple, yet elegant. (Or rather, the poems look simple, but are really anything but.) Nice selection. Didn’t know she had a book releasing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment