PPBF: Bearsie Bear and the Surprise Sleepover Party

Author/Illustrator: Bernard Waber
Publisher: Walter Lorraine Books, HM, 1997
Age: 
3-7
Themes: bears, sleepovers, cold

Opening: see image below (brilliant!)

Summary: (from my library’s catalog) In a cumulative story, one animal after another asks to come in out of the winter cold to sleep in Bearsie Bear’s big bed.

I picked this book because: my critique partner Lynn Becker recommended it to me, and all I’m wondering is why haven’t I heard of it before? I love it! It’s the perfect sort of storytime readaloud for toddlers (my homies!) with just the right amount of repetition and silly names for the reader, and just the right amount of the same for kids who like something silly but heartwarming. Please find and enjoy!

Resources/activities: if possible, read in a bed or under a big blanket! This would make a great piece to reenact with multiple roles. Talk about sleepovers, why we like them, why we don’t, what we bring to them, and what to do when you are at a sleepover, but would rather go home. A great companion read from thew SAME author is called, IRA SLEEPS OVER.

For more Perfect Picture Book Friday picks with teacher/parent resources, check out the list on Susanna Hill’s blog HERE.

And just for fun, a few photos (below) I took of friend’s books while visiting Germany in April…

5 thoughts on “PPBF: Bearsie Bear and the Surprise Sleepover Party

Leave a comment