PPBF: Something Big

Author: Sylvie Neeman
Illustrator: Ingrid Godon
Publisher: Enchanted Lion Books, 2013; Originally published under the title Quelque Chose de Grand by La Joie de Lire in Geneva, Switzerland, 2012.
Age: 4 – 8yrs
Themes: size perception, child-parent relationships, beaches
Opening: “I’m upset says the little one”, licking his jam-covered fingers. “What are you upset about?” asks the big one anxiously. “I’m upset that I’m little because I want to do something big.”
Summary: (from the publisher) “A big one and a little one talk together. The little one is upset because he wants to do something big even though he is still small. They go for a walk along the beach. There something both surprising and big happens.”

I like this book because: the cover illustration sold me. Yeah, I’m gullible like that. I love the story’s quiet conversation, and how the simple illustrations reflect how a child’s ideas are as easily built as they are changed, but beautiful and worthy at the same time. Brings back memories of  winter strolls on the beach too.

Resources/Activities: This would make a great conversation starter on the subject of size and what we imagine can or cannot be done as a small person; Read an NYT review HERE; or an interview with the illustrator – HERE

For more Perfect Picture Book picks with teacher/parent resources, check out the list on Susanna Hill’s blog HERE.

32 thoughts on “PPBF: Something Big

  1. Beautiful. And wow. That’s a lot of text! Not that I mind… just worth noting the differences between American vs. European PBs. Thanks for pointing this book out, Julie. I’m sure I’ll be able to find it in my local library– in its original version!

    Like

  2. The socratic dialogue format sounds unusual-especially since it has a different author and illustrator and the illustrator had to “see” the vision. Enchanted Lion has plucked another interesting one from abroad.

    Like

  3. That cover looks like one you might sketch! I do like the illustrations and quiet books. This one sounds contemplative. I’m finding a number of books written in other languages and translated into English by Canadian publishers.

    Like

  4. I’ve just picked up a pile of picture books from the library…now I’m starting my list for the next bunch of library holds. Please don’t tell anyone how much fun this is – they’ll think I am slacking off.:) Great book, Julie!

    Like

Leave a Reply

