PPBF: There’s NO Such Thing as a Dragon

Author/Illustrator: Jack Kent
Publisher: A Golden Book, 1975
Age Level: 3-7
Themes: dragons, imagination
Opening: Bill Bixbee was rather surprised when he woke up one morning and found a dragon in his room. It was a small dragon, about the size of a kitten.
Summary: Bill Bixbee’s mother won’t admit that dragons exist until it’s nearly too late.


Why I like this book: I am quoting directly from goodreads because it phrases what I want to say so perfectly: “Charming text and playful illustrations show that a little attention can make a big difference, no matter what size the problem.” I love finding a book that has endured. The writing is still fresh, and the illustrations crisp, to the point, and loaded with humor. Unfortunately, I sometimes find superbly skilled renderings that don’t add to the story – they only show what I’ve already read – but certainly NOT HERE! And the man has made over 40 books for me to delight in discovering.
Resources/Activities: Imagination and dragons? Make puppets, of course! I liked the Australian accents on the following video, and thought you can add anything you want to his simple demonstration, with a bit of glue or needle and thread. I tend to make puppets with socks because of the large collection of singles that have accumulated in a family of four over the years. But I’d reach for a paper bag, some crayons and a box of saved thingamabobs next!

http://childrensatheneum.blogspot.com/2009/11/illustrator-of-week-jack-kent.html

Click HERE to read more about Jack Kent on Children’s Atheneum
For more PPBF picks, go to Susanna Leonard Hill’s blog – HERE

I’m off to the mountains for the weekend, so I’ll get to your comments next week.

21 thoughts on “PPBF: There’s NO Such Thing as a Dragon

  1. What a great and timeless read. This will fill kid’s imaginations. Julie, you are so drawn to proportion when you select books and illustrations. You always find the right book — for you too.:)

    Like

  2. Love the old classics, Julie! And a dragon book…that’s a winner for sure. Your resource/activity list is great…I’ll have to scour the Friends of the Library section…who knows, I might find a copy. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment