PPBF: The Pig Who Wished

The PPBF series on Susanna Hill’s blog is taking a nap – a long summer slumber – but I can’t help myself – gotta share books!

WishCoverAuthor: Joyce Dunbar
Illustrator: Selina Young
Publisher: DK, 1999
Ages: 2-6
Themes: pigs, wishes, bedtime
Opening: Once there was a pig who swallowed a magic acorn so that all of her wishes came true. “Oh, I do wish, I could get out of my pigpen and look at the stores,” said the pig.
Summary: (from my library catalog) When a pig swallows a magic acorn, all her wishes come true.

WishEndpapersI like this book because: The cheerful illustrations from Selina Young attracted me to the book, and the linear and rollicking story of what happens when your wishes come true took my delight to another level – and in the end I was left with a warmed heart!

WishTitleResources/activities: Where might your wishes take you? This kind of story could be recreated in the round and each telling would be unique.

WishFor existing PPBF selections including resources and activities, go to Susanna Hill’s blog: HERE

3 thoughts on “PPBF: The Pig Who Wished

Leave a comment