PPBF: Still Stuck

StillStuckcoverAuthor/Illustrator: Shinsuke Yoshitake
Publisher: Abrams, 2017 (originally in Japan by Bronze Publishing, 2015)
Age: 2-6
Themes: getting dressed, families, bathtime
OpeningIt all started when Mom said it was time for a bath. She wanted to help me get ready, but I told her I could do it all by myself.

StillStuck1Summary: (from the interwebs) Getting dressed and undressed can be difficult, especially for little ones. While getting ready for a bath one evening, a little boy gets stuck in his clothes. He panics and starts to fear what life would be like if he never got unstuck. How will he play outside? How will he stop the cat from tickling his tummy? It’s good thing that Mom is around to help. But when it’s time to put on his pajamas, the boy finds himself with a whole new problem . . .

StillStuck2Why I like this book: I work in a bookstore. The library is my second home. I visit big box stores, maybe once a season – or less. But maybe I should more often. It’s where I found this book, sticking out like a sore thumb amidst the glittery, sparkly, too pink or too commercial covers (and some comfortable favorites too, but I just told you I am biased. You got that, right?). What a gem! I want you to discover it like I did though. Go!

StillStuck3.pngResources/Activities: discuss everyday difficulties and make a list of pros and cons – is the predicament good, or bad, and how can you tell? Take a bath! Ha!

StillStuckbackFor more Perfect Picture Book picks with teacher/parent resources, check out the list on Susanna Hill’s blog HERE.

16 thoughts on “PPBF: Still Stuck

  1. What an entertaining story. I love how the kid’s imagination gets the better of him. Another grandchild book! I should put this book in my husband’s Christmas stocking — for when he gets stuck taking off his sweaty t-shirts and calls to me to help :).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

