PPBF: Some Things I’ve Lost

LostThingsCoverAuthor/Illustrator: Cybèle Young
Publisher: Groundwood Books, 2015
Ages: 4-8
Themes: lost articles, found objects, creation, paper work
Opening: You can’t find something, something you’ve lost.
Summary: (from my library catalog) Cybèle Young invites readers to consider the inevitability of change and the power of the imagination with a collection of misplaced objects, including a roller skate, a wristwatch, and a set of keys, are shown undergoing imaginative transformations through a series of paper sculptures.

LostThingsEndpapersI like this book because: as an artist, a creator, a human – this book speaks to me on the most basic level, the ground floor. Taking it all in made me cry – and I cry again as I write! What evolves in Young’s recreations need not be attractive to get the message across, but they are sublime! I love that I can say this, “Read it and weep!”

LostThings1Resources/activities: create something from a found object, perhaps something from a recycling bin. No need to look further for inspiration – Some Things I’ve Lost explodes your mind!

LostThings2For existing PPBF selections including resources and activities, go to Susanna Hill’s blog: HERE

11 thoughts on “PPBF: Some Things I’ve Lost

  1. Thank you for the suggestion. I grabbed it from my library yesterday and sat down to look at it while watching my daughter’s basketball practice. By the 4th page I had the whole team (grade 4-5) surrounding me to see every new page… we were all mesmerized! (And the Coach none too pleased with my amazing distraction). A wonderful exploration of transformation practically animated across the pages.

    Like

Leave a Reply

