PPBF: The Pilot and the Little Prince

SisCover

Author/Illustrator: Peter Sis
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2014
Ages: 5-8yrs
Themes: Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, authors, airpilots
Opening: Long ago in France, at the turn of the last century, a little boy was born to be an adventurer.
Summary: (from my Aaron Reynold’s website) A biography of French writer and aviator Antoine de Saint-Exupery, author of The Little Prince.

Sisbaby

I like this book because: it’s an aesthetically masterful tribute to the author and adventurer, making it so easy to float away and get lost in the life story of Antoine de Saint-Exupéry as a pilot and author. I certainly did, but donning my reading glasses enabled a close look at all of the smaller spot illustrations that accompany the timeline (and some very fine print!). The book makes you want to know more about de Saint-Exupéry, but more importantly, it wakes the spirit of adventure! All in time for what would have been de Saint-Exupéry’s 114th birthday on June 29th.

SisScene

Resources/activities: I see this book AS a wonderful resource and companion book to The Little Prince (suggested age level 7+), as well as for a transportation unit; a wonderful example to inspire students to illustrate a scene from literature as a visual activity; listen to the interview with Peter Sis on NPR – HERE

de Saint-Exupéry’s most famous book was first published in the US

Antoine de Saint-Exupéry’s early sketches for “The Little Prince.” (all images courtesy The Morgan Library & Museum, New York, © Estate of Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, photographed by Graham S. Haber, 2013)

Perfect Picture Book Friday is on hiatus for the summer, but there are still plenty of selections on a themed and alphabetized list, with teacher/parent resources, on Susanna Hill’s blog HERE

End papers, and the 'Lucky Day' selection slip from my library.

End papers, and the ‘Lucky Day’ selection slip from my library.

And I could not resist doodling Le Petite Prince myself:

LePetitePrince cropped

25 thoughts on “PPBF: The Pilot and the Little Prince

  1. This looks magical! It’s been so long since I’ve reread The Little Prince and I’d love to learn more about Antoine de Saint-Exupery! Love your little prince doodle, too.

    (A little confused about Aaron Reynolds as author?)

    Like

  2. Where’s the “Love” button? 🙂 Le Petit Prince is one of my favorite books ever! Saw a play and the old movie (where Gene Wilder plays Le Renard, I think) when I was young, and was so glad when my older son loved the book as much as I did. Going to look up the Peter Sis biography of Antoine!

    Like

  3. What a gem! I didn’t know there was a biography of Le Renard. Haven’t read The Little Prince in a long time, but remember it was such a wonderful adventure story. I agree reading the two books together would really ignite imaginations. And, I love your drawing of the little prince. He looks like he’s wing walking.

    Like

  4. I have a real fondness for Mr St Exupery. I dream of being an adventurer like him. We listened to the NPR interview with Mr Sis the other day and I have been anxious to find this book! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  5. I heard the NPR biography story recently. Looking forward to reading that book and now the one on your list. Hope you are having a great summer. Taking a break here with retreats, travel, and “the usual” random stuff popping up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

