Wordles!

I just picked up this inspiring new picture book, and would like to suggest we ‘use it’ for today’s prompt: WORDLES

Author: Amy Krause Rosenthal
Illustrator: 
Serge Bloch
Publisher: 
Chronicle Books, 2013
Age Level: 4 and up
Themes: word play, english language, homonyms
Opening: “A book of wordles? What is a wordle?”
Summary: (From my library catalog) Uses colorful illustrations to demonstrate examples of “wordles,” or wordplay phrases that sound alike but have different meanings, including “I see” and “icy,” and “I scream” and “ice cream.”

I find it inspiring not necessarily for incorporating more homonyms in picture book manuscripts, but to have fun with illustration ideas, as Serge Bloch does with energetic and flowing simplicity. For those who don’t follow regularly, I have been doodling together with the Doodle-in-May facebook group, now again in July (we are having way too much fun!), and this month we are lightening Alison‘s load by suggesting prompts too (check out the last one I suggested if you’ve never heard of Notan).  I like using pencil and paper, and recently I’ve been learning how to make use of my tablet’s simple app ‘S Note’.

TaxiCrab

Taxi crab

I love playing with the word prompt, with the rhythm and magic that a rhyme can offer too. Here’s a quick one done in Adobe Illustrator for robot (July 12) and though I could draw a robot doing many things, why not go with a wordle when the opportunity arises!

Row-Bot

15 thoughts on “Wordles!

  1. This book looks great! I love those kinds of word things. We used to have a goat named Mo. Because that was his job. I’m not much into doodling myself. But I sure enjoy seeing everyone’s doodles! Yay!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Words that were highlighted in “Jacquel’s Russian History”~March 30, 2011 | The Jacquel Rassenworth Blog

Leave a Reply

