A Halloweensie Contest and WIX Twist

Susanna’s Rules for the Halloweensie contest: write a 100 word Halloween story appropriate for children, using the words witchbat, and “trick-or-treat. Check out other Halloweensie Contest entries at http://susannahill.blogspot.com/

I’ve been going door-to-door dressed in costume with an open bag for treats most of my life – okay I have enjoyed the custom most of my life! I even got married on Halloween (Happy 21st, hon!). And I’ve only just read that this practice has a name other than ‘trick-or-treating’: guising. Ha! Learn something new every day! New words should be applied freely so as to cement them into one’s vocabulary, so I thought I’d have a little trick-twisting fun with idioms and sayings:

A half truth is a whole guise. (off a Yiddish proverb)

A truth that’s told with bad intent beats all the guise you can invent. (Sorry Bill! ~William Blake, “Auguries of Innocence,” Poems from the Pickering Manuscript)

A guise may take care of the present, but it has no future.  (Author Unknown; if you know, tell the author to drop a line!)

Fit to be guised.

Early to bed, early to guise

Guise to the challenge!

One guise fits all.

Well…

That’s about the guise of it!

Also have to mention a Halloween PB – too delightful to pass up!

Author: Harriet Ziefert
Illustrator: Simms Tabak
Publisher: Candlewick Press, 2007
Age level: 2 and up
Opening: If one little witch meets one little witch, that makes…two little witches going trick or treating.
Why I like it: As you can see on the cover, one little witch is a bit suspicious of the other little witch as they meet their dressed-up friends. A little spooky and a lot of fun, with delightful illustrations from the late Simms Taback, who created over 35 picture books, winning the Caldecott Medal for Joseph Had A Little Overcoat and a Caldecott Honor for There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Fly. Do try an all time favorite of mine Kibitzers and Fools: tales my zayda told me.

Happy Halloween!

58 thoughts on “A Halloweensie Contest and WIX Twist

  1. Great entry. I agree with Penny. ULTRA-TALENTED. Very inspiring. Thanks to Sandy, I could not get my entry in on time. Furiously working on it right now, but not sure I’ll be able to finish it. Good luck!

    Like

    • Need to get back to comment on yours – my son ‘made’ me hand over the computer after we had a good laugh watching your video – because we loved your eyes and had the feeling you were gonna start cackling any moment!

      Like

      • I cackle at all times of the day, did I not cackle on there, I must have been scared off by Miss H approaching. it is definitely funnier than it is spooky lol.

        Like

  2. Julie, this is awesome on so many levels. Love the poem and the cat. I love your guise words as well. (Tee hee, couldn’t resist). The picture book looks wonderful, I’m tempted to start collecting again. Happy Halloween and Happy Anniversary!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Win my Treat! Halloween Photo Contest (Details Inside) | Magic in the Backyard

    • Hey, that shape was an accident! But a quick creative knows when to take the short-cut to his/her full advantage! I had a whole different image in mind to draw which I may still do, just for the practice, but careful planning never has the energy of a happy accident!

      Like

  4. Julie…FANTASTIC! The rhyme is meter-perfect…and I loved your use of words and images…can’t get the picture of witches spreading the dirt around…hahaha…they would be quite comfy in my house. 🙂 The shape is awesome…and congrats on your anniversary. 🙂

    Like

  5. Wow, Julie. I love your poem especially that you dressed it up in such an attractive cat’s tail logo looking piece! I can imagine this already published somewhere. You packed a lot of punch in just 100 words. Lots of action and fun! Excellent!

    Like

Leave a Reply

