WIX: Aporia

Aporia, a Greek adjective pronounced a-po-ree-a, is used to describe a feeling you get when you are at loss in a situation.

Again, I found this one in Christopher J. Moore’s fascinating book In Other Words: A Language Lover’s Guide to the Most Intriguing Words Around the World. These days, I figure, the citizens are tired of it. I feel for them, I really do, and hope they do well to help boost morale. But who shall I root for on Friday when Greece heads into the quarter finals against none other than their EU-opposers – Germany. Yes, I am talking about Eurocup 2012, again! I tend to want the better team to win, but in this case I am unentschieden, (undecided – a tie in sports) which just might be what I could feel good about!

There is no equivalent for the word compromise, reaching an agreement with some give and take, in Arabic, but they do have  taarradhin [tah-rah-deen], used to imply a win-win situation where no one has has to lose face.

I would be happy with a state of harmony…a union!

8 thoughts on “WIX: Aporia

Leave a Reply

