Day Eight: Advice Off the Butcher’s Block

Eight days in and Jeff Goins challenges us to finish something:Anything, really. Just pick a project — an essay, a blog post, maybe even a book — and finish it. Not tomorrow. Today.

I immediately thought of a manuscript, and Frances, the main character. But there is just no way anyone could complete the dummy sketches in one day!

It should never take longer than 30 minutes to finish anything. If it does, you’re not breaking the project up into enough chunks. Which will lead to stalling, your worst enemy.

Aha! Chunks! That’s my problem, I need to chop, maybe even dice!

Find something and move it across the finish line. Then do the same thing tomorrow. And the day after that. And so on.”

Okay Jeff. Knife in hand, cutting board ready. Watch out Julia, mine can take an edge! But when things don’t go as expected, there is always the blowtorch

“The only real stumbling block is fear of failure. In cooking you’ve got to have a what-the-hell attitude.”- Julie Childs

Today’s Secret Tidbit: I am a professionally trained Fleischereifachverkaeuferin!

13 thoughts on “Day Eight: Advice Off the Butcher’s Block

  1. that is really one word? How I love the German language…I like the chopping idea, that is very applicable to life as a whole! Good luck. Well, luck is not the word…maybe you can come up with something?

    Like

  2. I like the chunks idea too. I wonder if that means writing one line if I’m writing a quick little poem lol. Just kidding I’m not that slack. 🙂

    Like

  3. Can you tell me how to pronounce “Fleischereifachverkaeuferin”? I like your idea of the post. I love the blowtorch in the video (my mom had to explain who Julia Child was – I thought she was a comedian) by the way! 🙂

    Like

    • Fly-sher-eye-fahch-fur-koy-fer-in: the ch is the same sound you make trying to get popcorn ‘skins’ out of your throat!
      Love that you thought Julia was a comedian (she also did some spy work – look her up!)

      Like

Leave a Reply

