Day Five: Tor!

I’m feeling kinda lucky!

Jeff Goins has told us to take a break from the 15 Habits of Great Writer’s Challenge, a nap specifically, and today he posted a beautiful piece about the new joy he is finding in fatherhood.

But I did not take a nap. How could I?  Germany was playing their first game in Eurocup 2012 against Portugal! To see it on a big screen I headed to  Pappy’s, a local ports bar. There I met up with my fellow football fans, some still in elementary school but not to be underestimated: when Boateng walked off with an injury and I hoped (out loud) that Klose might be sent in, the youngest reminded me, “Klose is not a defender.” In spite of my ignorance the Germans won, 1-0! Much to the shame of my husband, I don’t really care who wins and certainly don’t enjoy watching one team cream another, but I am always interested in a good game, where both teams show fire in their bellies!

I also won today! A signed print from illustrator and former animation artist specializing in the children’s book market, Maria Bogade of Germany. She also worked on award-winning projects like ”The Gruffalo.” I chose this piece from her site‘s portfolio:

Ben’s Flying Flowers is her most recent collaboration with Inger Maier:

AND… today I received a prize I won while participating in Paula Yoo‘s NaPiBoWriWee Challenge.

I ‘ll be busy again tomorrow though…hoping for another good game: Spain vs. Italy, and  Republic of Ireland vs. Croatia!

5 thoughts on “Day Five: Tor!

    • Moing! Moing! Joanna. Only won the first,print; the second is her new book. Always see my communication mistakes a bit late, sorry! How is Garos doing so far? I can’t watch any sports at home – no reception, no cable, just movies. Good thing for me my library has an excellent media selection! And I suppose supporting a local pub is an effort worth noting!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

