Day Three: Initiative

Day three into the 15 Habits of Great Writers Challenge Jeff Goins tells us to take the initiative and form good writing habits so we can become “who we are through the things we do (or don’t do).” (For more info click on the icon in the sidebar)

I like to write everyday, but I have other ‘writing’ habits. I read articles and books on writing, everyday. And I read picture books, everyday (ten or more!). I review picture books to learn more about their structure, for my own records, and I participate in Perfect Picture Book Friday hosted on Susanna Hill’s blog. I also listen to the spoken word, through conversation of course, but also through  special poetry videos like Renée LaTulippe’s on her blog No Water River. Or through films, like this gem from Temujin Doran. This short film is based on an archival sound recording taken from the 1945 Linguaphone series ‘English Pronunciation – A practical handbook for the foreign learner.’ Sit back and savor sights and sounds.

3 thoughts on “Day Three: Initiative

  1. You are so disciplined, Julie. Sometimes it’s so much easier for me to research than to get my BIC and write! I’m halfway done with the June MS, and I need to get it done so I can perfect it!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Writing Challenge Word for Day 3: Initiate « Candid Concourse

Leave a Reply

